A Thought from the Bookshelf

confession gourmond

The Moontide Series

David Hair is the author of The Moontide Series, a story that I absolutely ravished mages blood david hair(three are out now, the fourth and final is coming out in October 2015). Consider these books the meat, and I the lioness.

Mage’s Blood, Scarlet Tides and, Unholy War is a story with many themes; politics and those hungry for power, war (and those hungry for power), magic (and those…you get the point). For fans of George R. Martin and Guy Gavriel Kay, this series should satisfy the palette.

SUMMARY

A Leviathan Bridge connects two worlds, rising every so many years. This bridge was created by a Magi who hoped for peace and prosperity between West and East. But the West is corrupted by power and wages war on the East. The East, however, is taking a stand. Throughout these two worlds are those with magic – the Magi who use the Gnosis to cast their magic (a necklace of sorts that allows Magi to focus their power).  Some are hungry for power and are poisoned by arrogance, others fight for peace and see all as equals.

scarlet tidesYeah, a pretty generic summary – that sounds like almost every fantasy book written. But what stood out for me is how well thought out the grab for power and political shuffling is throughout the story. It is a series that is dotted with excellent characters of all shades, diversity and values. It took me about 4 chapters to get sucked in.  The beginning spends quite a bit of time introducing you to the main characters, but the wait was worth it.  Once I knew the characters and saw the threads in the story that connected them all, I turned each page breathlessly.  You would have to be blind to not see the parallels to our present day society and this constant bid for war.  What this series has that we in the real world do not, is magic.  And thank God.  Great evil is done with magic throughout these books, I shudder to think what we would do to each other if that was true for us.

This series has something for everyone; memorable female AND male characters, love, humour, sexiness, epic scenes of battle, horrific atrocities and vivid fights with magic.

Two downsides: The sex scenes throughout are too similar to each other, the male and female playing fairly stereotypical roles.  The author also shies away from using words like vagina – so instead you get words like ‘mound’.  Oh so sexy.

The other downside? It ended.  Now I have to wait until October for the fourth and unholy war david hairfinal one.

CHARACTER OF NOTE

Elena Anborn – An assassin for one side turned protector for the other. Elena’s thoughts, values and conscience change as she journeys through the story.  She is a strong, athletic woman in her early 40’s who is a warrior half-blood Mage. She is kind, mean, hot-tempered, suspicious, intelligent, brave, selfish and nurturing.  She is all things and not stamped by one label. I appreciate the author writing such a multi-hued heroine who is often stronger, smarter and more adept than most of the men in the story.

My Feels:

DevastatedOMG! I LOVE THIS BOOK!I've got a crush

I’ve been reading, just not blogging

I don’t like that I haven’t posted here in awhile. It’s not that I don’t enjoy blogging, it’s just I am still uncertain what I really want this blog to be (and I spend all day at work on a computer and lately the thought of going on a computer to blog leaves me feeling ‘meh’.  Is that a blogging sin?). I thought for awhile I wouldn’t write book reviews because they are so subjective. But then I read a great book that I want to tell the world about – tell me, what’s a reader supposed to do?

I’ll tell you – blog about it. I’ve decided to continue with book reviews and the format will be the following:

  • Quick summary about the book
  • Highlight of a character that stood out to me and why
  • How the book made me feel

That’s it.  No grand opinions on style or prose or grammar or blah, blah, blah….just quick and dirty. Feels are all I know to be real – what I think, not so important, but what I feel….ahhhh…that’s what reading is all about.

Now I will end this blog with something I learned recently – you aren’t supposed to use two spaces after a period anymore.

Now, back to blogging!

Monkey-typing

Hot dudes reading – try to keep those knees strong

It’s worth coming out of hibernation to bring you this – Hot Dudes Reading is an Instagram account that is gaining in popularity.  And why not?!  What is better than hot guys reading?  Let the swooning begin.

Hot Dudes Reading

The account just started but look how many people are following already.  So, if you’ve got a picture of a handsome gent reading – send away to them!

What’s on your holiday reading list?

Ermahgerd – it’s December.

And with December comes people and partying and gatherings and baking and gift wrapping.  When’s a girl going to find time to read?

But find time I will and I would love to know what’s either a) on your holiday reading list right now or b) what books you are asking for Christmas.

Give it to me in the comments below.  Let’s see if I can expand my reading world.

ermahgerd

Ok, so my writing could use a little work

According to this infographic on common blog writing mistakes – I’ve got quite a bit to learn eh?  With those run on sentences and, using, commas in the most inappropriate places and such.  However, in regards to my writing, I am of the opinion that, why, yes, it could be better.

You still like me though right?

Some good points and advice!

blog-writing-mistakes

From Grammarcheck.net

Hey ladies, wanna laugh and cry at the same time?

Hey readers and champions of all things intelligent, smart and sane – you gotta hop on over to author and writer Pamela Ribon’s site and read through her hilarious smack-down of the of the amusing yet soberingly-depressing book Barbie – I Can Be a Computer Engineer.

I both laughed and cried at the same time.  It was fun.

barbie computer engineer

I am completely reconsidering my stance on wanting a Bookworm Barbie – she probably wouldn’t be able to read without the help of Ken.

****

update!  If you want a hand at making this book read out how it should have from the beginning – head on over to Feminist Hacker Barbie.

Hey all you writers – I wanna know something

Hey, hey writers!  I just came across a cool new writing network and I was curious to know if anyone else is using this and what your thoughts are on it.

Medium is a publishing platform online that “sets out to build the best publishing platform for on the web — or anywhere — for words and pictures, that starts with the writing experience itself.”

So, who can give me the goods on its use, function, look and community?  I am eyeing it, thinking of joining it.

Medium writing and stories

10 Reasons Introverts and Books are BFF’s

I’m sharing an oldie (but a goodie).  I’ve been away from blogging for awhile (got involved in a civic election!)  But wanted to share something today so thought I would share one of my most popular posts.

I give you 10 reasons why introverts and books go together like peanut butter and jelly.

10 reasons introverts and books are bff's - geeky book snob

“Kids know that this is the book that makes adults have to say silly things”

Awesome.

 

 

 

At once perfectly simple and ingeniously imaginative, The Book With No Pictures inspires laughter every time it is opened, creating a warm and joyous experience to share—and introducing young children to the powerful idea that the written word can be an unending source of mischief and delight.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,704 other followers

%d bloggers like this: