Happy Thanksgiving eh?

It’s Thanksgiving here in Canada and today, before I head out to a family gathering and load up on food and wine (and become increasingly tired), I want to say Happy Thanksgiving to everyone and give thanks for the fact that I can read.

I don’t know what it feels like not to be able to read though at times when I have looked at a foreign language written on a paper and I have no idea what it says I get frustrated and sad.  I can only imagine that those who can’t read feel something similar.  I believe reading opens our minds to new ideas and creates fertile ground for imagination.  The beautiful thing about reading is that anyone can learn at any age.

So I am thankful for being able to read, and I am thankful for books.

Now off to eat some poor turkey, who if he only knew how to read, might have avoided the dinner table.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

About Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff since birth. Happy introvert who likes socializing when she's not busy being an introvert who likes to read.

Posted on October 8, 2012, in General Musings & Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I too love Alice Hoffman – and strangely the first book I picked up was The River King. I don’t think I have a review of it because it was pre blog. I also really enjoyed the Story Sisters and more recently The Dovekeepers Im pretty sure Ive read a couple more but am drawing a blank!
    Good review. If I hadn’t already read this I would now want to!
    Lynn 😀

  2. “Now off to eat some poor turkey, who if he only knew how to read, might have avoided the dinner table.”

    Hahaha, true story. 😉

You say stuff here - whether I listen is another matter

