My new hero

How awesome is this.

A man in the Philippines set up a public library out of his home because of his passion for books.

In the BBC article “The man who turned his home into a public library“, Kate McGeow reports that:

“Hernando Guanlao is a sprightly man in his early 60s, with one abiding passion – books.

They’re his pride and joy, which is just as well because, whether he likes it or not, they seem to be taking over his house.

Guanlao, known by his nickname Nanie, has set up an informal library outside his home in central Manila, to encourage his local community to share his joy of reading.

The idea is simple. Readers can take as many books as they want, for as long as they want – even permanently. As Guanlao says: “The only rule is that there are no rules.””

This story just fills me with giddiness, especially as you read on to discover how popular it is, and how much it is growing.  I fell in love with Hernando even more when he said this:

“It seems to me that the books are speaking to me…” he says with a smile. “The books are telling me they want to be read…they want to be passed around.”

See?!  This man gets it.  The power and magic of books.  They speak, they sing, they pulse.  He understands and he honours it and through that honour he has brought so much joy to others.  What started out as 100 seems to be upwards of 3000 now.  Though he doesn’t advertise, people find him.

Read the full article.  It is worth your attention.  And then when you get to the end and read “A book should be used and reused. It has life, it has a message.” – try not to weep.

About Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff since birth. Happy introvert who likes socializing when she's not busy being an introvert who likes to read.

Posted on October 19, 2012, in General Musings & Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Oh my! I have always wanted to work in a library, but this man has taken it to a whole new level. What an incredible person! I wish I could meet him.

  2. Admirable! I wish I was someone who’s not so precious about her books *sigh* although I do lend them to those I know will respect everything from the cover to the very last page.

  3. Aww yeah! Filipino pride!! I’m a book-lovin’ Pinay myself and I might actually visit this public library 🙂

  4. Cool but is it leagal? I would have thought tha the copyright nazi’s would be having a fit.

  5. I have nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award, if you want to accept the award check my blog http://margosnotebook.wordpress.com

  6. It’s amazing how this story has reached the world. I’m from the Philippines (Manila). As a Filipino and a reader he definitely did a wonderful thing. I would have never thought of this, he definitely is a hero.

  7. What a lovely idea. I may not open my own home into a real ‘public’ library but sometimes it sort of feels that way anyway – my friends always come by for recommendations and holiday reads and my children’s friends enjoy my taste in YA! At the end of the day it is a lovely feeling if you give somebody else one of your books and they receive as much enjoyment as you did – it just doubles the pleasure.
    Lynn 😀

  8. What a wonderful idea! Wouldn’t it be fun to have a bookshelf on the front porch filled with books to share, borrow, or keep. Hmmmm.

You say stuff here - whether I listen is another matter

