Book covers explained

I came across this Ted Talk of Chip Kidd, Art Director at Knopf, explaining how a book jacket/cover gets designed.  He explains how the book designer’s responsibility is three-fold: to the public, to the author and to the publisher.  He confirms what I hoped was true; that the designer does read the book and decides ‘what the story will look like’ (Chip’s words).

Chip Kidd isn’t the most charismatic person you will watch but he is obviously a book snob himself, so I can appreciate that.  I also appreciate his enthusiasm for books and I get the sense he cares about the design of these stories.  There are a few things he says throughout that made me nod my head in agreement while scribbling the words down so that I could use them on others when they ask, why is a book cover so important?

Lastly, he wins me over near the end when he comments on the world of the e-readers and kindles.  He says that while those things have their value, something gets lost in the translation: “Tradition and a sensual experience.”

And this is ultimately what I get when I read a book.  As I said before in a previous post – the book experience is one of the senses; touch, sight, sound, smell and taste.

About Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff since birth. Happy introvert who likes socializing when she's not busy being an introvert who likes to read.

Posted on October 21, 2012, in For the Love of Books, Videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Nice Article! Chip Kidd has an official website & if you visit the “Gallery” page you can see a ton of cool Book Covers that he has designed.

    http://www.chipkidd.com

    Thanks,
    Tommy

  2. I too find the book cover to be important. I especially like one I can keep referring to as I read through the book – like if the main character gains a magical item or a new spaceship halfway through the book, I like to see that reflected on the cover some way.

  3. Hoping – still – that you’ll read either ANNIE DREAMING or METAL MAN WALKING as you previously indicated you plan to do. I’d actually love it if you’d read ANNIE DREAMING first – yes, of course I’d love you to read both books! Since I wrote both and both are part of the DooRFrame novel series, I’m not absolutely sure ANNIE DREAMING stands apart from METAL MAN WALKING.

    Both are available at Amazon.com. Both are available at my e-Stores at Createspace.com. Neither are on Kindle. You might read my post on DooRFrame Books as to why I decline to participate in the digital pressing of my work.

    Looking forward to your thoughts! Many blessings, Carley
    http://doorframebooks.wordpress.com

  4. What a great video. Thanks for sharing. As a yet-to-be-published author I have wondered what goes into the making of a book jacket. This further cements my desire to be published traditionally.

  5. Enjoyed this, thanks for sharing! Chip Kidd is ever so slightly annoying isn’t he? But he makes good points (‘try experiencing THAT on a Kindle’) and I loved his book The Cheese Monkeys so I can overlook that.

You say stuff here - whether I listen is another matter

