Unicorn Birthday

The animated film of one of my favourite books celebrated a birthday yesterday!  The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle is 30 years old and she doesn’t look a day over 20.

Like The Neverending Story, The Last Unicorn is a story that I will cherish forever and one that I will certainly pass on to my kids.  There is certainly a darkness and sadness to this story that translates well into the animated film – I thought the film was beautifully done and remains a cartoon that me and my siblings quote and refer to often.

With this news I think I might just pick up my copy and read it this weekend.  It’s been a long time since Schmendrick the Magician entertained me.

About Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff since birth. Happy introvert who likes socializing when she's not busy being an introvert who likes to read.

Posted on November 20, 2012, in Geeking Out and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. It’s one of my favorite books and movies as well 🙂

  2. One of my absolute favourite stories growing up!
    I’m the same age as The Last Unicorn 🙂

  3. I had no idea this was a book! I watched this movie when I was a kid and loved it. I want to read the book now, but it make me cry if it is anything like the movie. I’m such a softie, lol.

  4. I absolutely loved this movie as a kid! I haven’t watched the movie in about 20 years–always meant to see it again as an adult, but am kinda afraid it might lose it’s magic for me. I watched the animated version of Watership Down again when I was an adult and I did not find the movie to be as engrossing as I remembered as a kid. I don’t want this to happen to The Last Unicorn. Maybe fond memories will have to suffice.

  5. Aggh my gosh I’ve always loved this film!! I have yet to pick up the book though, cause I want the specific gold cover version and it’s proving impossible to get hold of. 😦 I think I might have to give up soon and go for the not so nice cover because I really want to read it.

  6. I recently rewatched this cartoon and didn’t cry nearly as much as I did when I was a kid. The book is also pretty good.

You say stuff here - whether I listen is another matter

