Finding Comfort in the Pain and Confusion

There are no words today for what has happened in Newtown, Connecticut.  Only tears.

However, my cousin shared this with me today and I am grateful for it has helped me, and others, to find balance and to calm the anger, rage and confusion that threatens to take over in times like these.

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.’  To this day, especially in times of “disaster,” I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.” ~ Mr. Rogers

Peace, love and healing to the community of Newtown.

About Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff since birth. Happy introvert who likes socializing when she's not busy being an introvert who likes to read.

Posted on December 14, 2012, in General Musings & Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Good quote; I must try to remember that. It seems there are so many killings lately. It’s hard to fathom how anyone can do these kinds of things.

  2. I don’t live in the USA yet, news like this one make my heart break. I don’t think I have a right to talk about guns because they are only used in the army in my country, it is actually very difficult to get one, however, I cannot but hate them as the parents of those children must be hating them now. Killing a human being is horrible yet there is something even worse when that human being is a child. I hope their families recover as soon as possible and find solace in religion, the community or in each other. May their beloved ones rest in peace.

You say stuff here - whether I listen is another matter

