An introvert’s guide for people who want to make guides for introverts

I’ve read all the ‘survival guides’ written for the introverted personality.  The holiday survival guides, the info-graphic guides, the business guides – and I’ve noticed a theme.  They all tend to portray introverts either as fragile beings, snobs or aliens from another planet.  While I understand these so-called guides are created in fun and with good intentions, I can’t help but feel they still subtly support the stereotypes surrounding introverts.  I can’t also help but feel that they are serving to create yet another divide between people, and I, as a proud introvert, just don’t roll that way.  We all are just people after all.

So, I decided to do the only logical thing at this point – make my own.

 

introverts guide for people who want to make guides about introverts - geeky book snob

About Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff since birth. Happy introvert who likes socializing when she's not busy being an introvert who likes to read.

Posted on December 27, 2012, in Bookish Graphics, Introvert Introspection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I’ve been described as “shy […] it is so hard for you [to interact socially]”. Worst part is that a cousin of mine said that and I felt the urge to say: “No, the fact that I don’t want to tell you about private stuff does not mean it is hard for me to do so, it is because I don’t want the whole family to know it all.”

    So, apparently I’m a shy, or introvert, or cold, or discreet, or cautious, whatever.

  2. So true. Being an introvert does not make one a sociopath. Not by a long shot. Must go share this on Twitter now…

  3. Can I get this on a t-shirt?

  4. I love this! I have been called a snob or worse because I don’t just put everything out there. If I wanted people to know everything about me I would tell them. Not. I second Ericka, can I get a t-shirt with this on???

  5. Reblogged this on A New Beginning and commented:
    For all of us introverts, and the extroverts who love us!! 🙂

  6. This is great – reblogged it!! 🙂

    Thank you, and I also would love to see this on a T-shirt, or at least a poster!!

  7. This is very true. I’m an introvert, but many people seem to think I’m shy or something is wrong when I don’t talk. I’m an observer and a listener. I feel comfortable that way. Yet I’m an English teacher and I can be very talkative. I’m an outgoing introvert!

  8. I don’t hate people, but I have a low tolerance for most. I get tired of people fast and need days to recover after a social event. People, especially high maintenance, loud or fast talkers, or over dramatic ones, tend to exhaust me.

  9. Do people actually treat introverts this way?? Jeez, most of the people I love to spend the most time with in my life are introverts.

  10. I’m a little of both…and I love both, so no judgement from me! 😉

  11. Well-expressed! Love this post. And I just totally agree with you 🙂

  1. Pingback: In The Mind Of An Introvert | An Evil Nymph's Blog

  2. Pingback: How I Made Peace With Being an Introvert — And How It Helped Me as a New Parent | School of Smock

You say stuff here - whether I listen is another matter

