A knee jerk reaction (or why George Martin is ticking me off)

Look, I get it that authors are just people and people can do what they want with their lives as long as they don’t hurt others in the process.  That includes making the decision – as a person – to take a long-ass time to finish a beloved fantasy series that has hordes of fans waiting with bated breath.  I get that.  I’m a person so yeah, I understand and support choices like that.

But as a book snob?!?!  And a geeky book snob at that!?!?

This article from Deadline is concerning George Martin, the author of The Game of Thrones series – a brilliant, epic, raw fantasy series that has captured the loyalty of many.  The article reveals that George Martin “has signed a two-year overall deal with (HBO) the pay cable network.  Under the pact, Martin will continue as co-executive producer on Game Of Thrones, whose Season 3 premieres March 31.  Additionally, he will develop and produce new series projects for the network.”

As a book and story fan (and I know I’m not the only one judging by the comment section) I’m disappointed to read this – right away my knee jerk reaction is to assume that now the series will take even longer to be finished.  I need this moment to beg and plead, stomp my feet and demand the focus be turned back to the books!  There would be no HBO show without the books!  There would be no HBO two-year deal without those books!

Georgeeeee *whine*, why won’t you just finish the damn books?

I am concerned George.  With all due respect, you don’t really look the picture of health, you are getting on with age, throw on the stresses of these additional responsibilities…I’m just saying…I hope there’s a game plan here for the Game of Thrones series.

As an avid reader I would like to think that if you are asking me, as an author, to commit to your series, commit to your characters, shell out money for the hard copies as soon as they come out and buy any additional material connected to the series because I love it so damn much – then how about some commitment back?  Because I’ll be honest…I’m kinda losing interest.

Okay, geeky book snob knee jerk reaction over and done with.

Congratulations George!  You’ve got an awesome, creative mind, no doubt about that. The question remains – what project will get the majority of your focus? *pity party over*

original source unknown - labeled Game of Thrones First World problems

About Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff since birth. Happy introvert who likes socializing when she's not busy being an introvert who likes to read.

Posted on February 6, 2013, in Geeking Out and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I hear you! I am a huge fan and it is 2025 here and we are still waiting. -Miss E

  2. I’m not reading or watching the series, so I’m an outsider looking in, but I’ve gotta say, sometimes the only way to finish something is by doing something else for a while. I mean that you can get so bogged down and immersed in a project that you can’t even see it anymore. So maybe that’s why. 🙂

  3. I must admit I have never watched the series; we don’t have cable and don’t watch much on what we do have. But I read all the books and was pulled in from the first book; so much so that I immediately bought the rest and read them all one after the other. I’m always a little leery about watching someone else’s interpretation of a book, especially if it was one I enjoyed. However, there have been some great adaptations, like the 4-part miniseries of The Crimson Petal and the White. That has to have been the best one so far. But I digress. Maybe I should rent an episode or two to see what all the fuss is about. 🙂

  4. I just hope it doesn’t put pressure on him to finish book 6. The quality of his writing might suffer. But who knows, maybe he’ll do fine. I’ve only read the first book, anyway.

  5. I understand you! It can get too weary after a while.. That’s why I salute JK Rowling for being firm about finishing the Harry Potter series and moving on to other projects. 🙂

You say stuff here - whether I listen is another matter

