What Are They Reading? Frodo Edition

When I enter someone’s home and I see a shelf of books, like a moth to a flame, I am drawn towards it.  I must know what people have read – what their tastes are.  It is a constant curiosity I have when it comes to a book.  Just like a cat is unable to stop itself from pouncing on a mouse or chittering at a bird, I am unable to not peruse the titles of someone’s personal library.

In fact I’ve gone to great lengths to see what people are reading – you can read about it at an older post: On Being a Book Ninja

So it wouldn’t surprise you to know that once in awhile, I imagine what books a fictional character might read (this is after I’ve thought about cats and ways to save the world – my life isn’t just about books you know).

I started a new feature on this blog called What Are they Reading and began it with Gandalf.

But now I want to know what Frodo is reading.

frodobaggins reading

As a reader, you don’t go on a long quest without a good book or two or five.  We know Frodo carried at least one book with him on his mission (I’m going off the movie – not the book on this one) so what kinds of books would he be carrying on him?

*On a funny note – look up Mordor on Wikitravel

alice-in-wonderlandAlice’s Adventures in Wonderland

I can clearly picture this book in Frodo’s bag. He himself is so much like Alice – down a rabbit hole, faced with challenge, obstacles, darkness – heading towards a destination (following the rabbit). Meeting new friends, going on a grand adventure. I imagine this is one of Frodo’s favourites.

Book Summary:
We all know what adventure Alice goes on and if you don’t – are you even from this planet?

 

 

 

Short – Walking Tall When You’re Not Tall At Allshort walking tall by john schwartz

Okay, so maybe not that many Hobbits care about their height but they certainly face more obstacles in Middle-earth than any other species because of it.  Frodo had some confidence issues to work on in the beginning of his journey so it’s no surprise that a book based on how size doesn’t matter would have helped him out some.

Book summary:
When veteran journalist John Schwartz took a close look at famous height studies, he made a surprising discovery: being short doesn’t have to be a disadvantage! Part advice book, part memoir, and part science primer, this fascinating book explores the marketing, psychology, and mythology behind our obsession with height and delivers a reassuring message to kids of all types that they can walk tall—whatever it is that makes them different.
 
 

WildernessSurvival-Davenport.2Wilderness Survival: 2nd Edition

This speaks for itself.  Frodo and Sam are going out into the unknown – you think Frodo is going unprepared?  He’s been in the Shire his whole life – you don’t just go out into the wilderness on an adventure without some survival tips.

Book Summary:
A comprehensive, well-organized, and user-friendly guide to staying alive in the back country.  With concise explanations and detailed illustrations, survival expert Gregory Davenport covers the five basic elements of survival–personal protection, signaling, finding food and water, travel, and health–providing the reader with complete information on how to stay calm and alive until rescue arrives.

 

 

The Real Middle Earth – Magic and Mystery in the Dark Agesthe real middle earth brian bates

One thing that seemed clear about Frodo, was his open mind. He has a healthy curiosity and a longing to know more than just the Shire.  So I think Frodo would want to know the origins of Middle-earth – from a more modern human perspective.

Book Summary:
Tolkien readily admitted that the concept of Middle-earth was not his own invention. An Old English term for the Dark Age world, it was always assumed that the importance of magic in this world existed only in Tolkien`s works; now Professor Brian Bates reveals the vivid truth about this historical culture. Behind the stories we know of Dark Age king and queens, warriors and battles, lies the hidden history of Middle-earth, a world of magic, mystery and destiny. Fiery dragons were seen to fly across the sky, monsters haunted the marshes, and elves fired poisoned arrows. Wizards cast healing spells, wise trees gave blessings, and omens foretold the deaths of kings.  Repressed by a millennium of Christianity, this belief system all but disappeared, leaving only faint traces in folk memory and fairy tales. In this remarkable book Professor Brian Bates has drawn on the latest archaeological findings to reconstruct the imaginative world of our past, revealing a culture with insights that may yet help us understand our own place in the world.
 
About Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff since birth. Happy introvert who likes socializing when she's not busy being an introvert who likes to read.

Posted on April 6, 2014, in What are They Reading? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Hahaha! I love this post. I, too, seek out book titles when I see them in somebody’s home because they’re a useful insight into the residents of that home.

    It’s particularly fascinating in historic homes.

    As for Frodo, I’d want to know what he was reading. I would imagine the wilderness survival book came in handy. But he seems to be more of a country guy, so I’m thinking it was something about raising crops properly. (Did you see that larder when the dwarves came for a visit??!!)

  2. One of my most popular posts dealt with the topic of bookcase peeping. What fun to think about other character book tastes:
    Scout–The Gray Ghost, Tom Swift
    I’ll give this one some thought!

  3. Sukanya Ramanujan

    Love this post. Never thought about trying to imagine what fictional characters would read.

  4. Wonderful post! I always gravitate to bookshelves, too. You would have a field day at my house as I have 4 floor-to-almost-ceiling bookcases just in my living room. And that’s not counting the books piled up in the rest of the house – at least one large bookcase in each room.

  5. I also love to see what other people are reading. If I’m by a bookshelf I have to peek!

    Frodo’s books are interesting ones, I’ve added the Short book to my reading list as a short person myself it sounds very interesting.

  6. What a fun idea for your blog! I’m also a “bookshelf snoop” when I go to people’s homes… you often learn a lot about the person that you didn’t know before! This makes me want to hunt around to see what other characters, like Gandalf, were reading!

  7. I love to look at people’s bookshelves too. I love your idea of what a character might read.

    Great post.

    Hello from a fellow A to Z challenger. Your blog looks great. I need to figure out how to put all those share buttons like you have. I’m new to the blog thing – still learning, so seeing what everyone else has is great! 🙂

You say stuff here - whether I listen is another matter

