Project Bookmark Canada

This post has nothing to do with the A to Z Challenge that I had signed up for and failed at keeping up with.  The challenge is at letter V, holy crap, where did that time go?

I have no problem saying I failed in this challenge – I’m fine with it.  Failing is necessary and I realized something about myself when it comes to this blog – I will write and publish a post when the spirit moves me.  I also learned that just because I failed at this one, doesn’t mean I’m not going to try, try again.  So to all of those who stuck with it, you are awesome-sauce on a plate of goodness with an extra helping of tasty creativity.  Yum.

Now for what I really wanted to talk about today.

Project Bookmark Canadaproject bookmark canada

Project Bookmark Canada is a charitable organization that is running a campaign called The Page Turner.  This campaign is placing physical bookmarks in real Canadian locations where a story took place.  It celebrates imagined scenes in real places.  The real meets the imagined – I love this!  The goal is to get people reading of course – so hey, let’s read, literally, across Canada.

The criteria for the physical bookmark is as follows:

The Bookmarked excerpt must be set in an actual and identified location. The reader must be able to stand in the place where the characters or narrators stand in the story. The site can be named in the Bookmarked passage or at some other point in the overall work. (For example, if we know that the couple meets at Toronto’s Allen Gardens greenhouse in one scene, the next time they visit that location in the story, that scene too would be eligible.) 

A Bookmarked passage may be up to 500 words and should be effective as excerpt—but it should also make you wonder what came before and what comes next, encouraging readers of the Bookmark to become readers of the book.

And Winnipeg has a bookmark!

One of Winnipeg’s most beloved authors is Carol Shields (so beloved that we have an arts festival named for her) and in her story The Republic of Love, she mentions a bus shelter at a well-known Winnipeg intersection.  Well, this is exactly where the bookmark is with the passage from the book that mentions the intersection.  And you know what else is mentioned in this passage?  My name!  Double cool (although I will admit Annette Avenue was not named after me)!

(Also shout out to Leif Norman who’s photo is credited on the site – he is a well-known Winnipeg photographer.  Too bad this wasn’t W day for the A to Z Challenge, I would then make this all about Winnipeg.)

So to all of us Canadian book lovers – donate today why don’t you eh?

project bookmark canada - leif norman

Winnipeg’s unveiling of the bookmark marking the location in Carol Shields’ The Republic of Love. The corner of River and Osborne in Winnipeg.

About Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff since birth. Happy introvert who likes socializing when she's not busy being an introvert who likes to read.

Posted on April 25, 2014, in For the Love of Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’ve stuck with the A-Z Challenge through the whole thing, and dang, I’m worn out lol. It’s been exhausting, frustrating and stressful. It’s also been a lot of fun and I’m already brainstorming on theme ideas for next year 🙂

  2. What a neat event! It would be great to see that in other countries.

    As for the challenge I have to make up my Q post this Sunday =S. And some days are easier to comment all over the place than others but I’ve had fun so far.

  3. I’m persevering with the A-to-Z challenge, though I’ve had a couple of cheater posts (“Q is for … uh … questions? Anybody have one for me?”); I’ve also decided that although I want to go to a more frequent schedule than I had before the challenge, I’m certainly not going to promise six times a week. Oof.

    On the subject of the bookmarks — that’s such a cool idea! One of my favourite such moments was reading Charles de Lint’s “Jack the Giant Killer” for the first just after I moved to Ottawa, and walked down the exact streets she walked down — though I didn’t meet any fairies, good or bad! I have a friend who’s written a book set in Toronto in the 1920s, where one of the characters lives in the apartment building we both used to. That was pretty fun too.

  4. I adore this idea. I love that it will get people talking about books and place. Plus Carol Shields is simply terrific. Way to go Canada.

  5. That is such a cool idea! We need to do more things like that.

You say stuff here - whether I listen is another matter

