Blog Archives

The Moontide Series

David Hair is the author of The Moontide Series, a story that I absolutely ravished mages blood david hair(three are out now, the fourth and final is coming out in October 2015). Consider these books the meat, and I the lioness.

Mage’s Blood, Scarlet Tides and, Unholy War is a story with many themes; politics and those hungry for power, war (and those hungry for power), magic (and those…you get the point). For fans of George R. Martin and Guy Gavriel Kay, this series should satisfy the palette.

SUMMARY

A Leviathan Bridge connects two worlds, rising every so many years. This bridge was created by a Magi who hoped for peace and prosperity between West and East. But the West is corrupted by power and wages war on the East. The East, however, is taking a stand. Throughout these two worlds are those with magic – the Magi who use the Gnosis to cast their magic (a necklace of sorts that allows Magi to focus their power).  Some are hungry for power and are poisoned by arrogance, others fight for peace and see all as equals.

scarlet tidesYeah, a pretty generic summary – that sounds like almost every fantasy book written. But what stood out for me is how well thought out the grab for power and political shuffling is throughout the story. It is a series that is dotted with excellent characters of all shades, diversity and values. It took me about 4 chapters to get sucked in.  The beginning spends quite a bit of time introducing you to the main characters, but the wait was worth it.  Once I knew the characters and saw the threads in the story that connected them all, I turned each page breathlessly.  You would have to be blind to not see the parallels to our present day society and this constant bid for war.  What this series has that we in the real world do not, is magic.  And thank God.  Great evil is done with magic throughout these books, I shudder to think what we would do to each other if that was true for us.

This series has something for everyone; memorable female AND male characters, love, humour, sexiness, epic scenes of battle, horrific atrocities and vivid fights with magic.

Two downsides: The sex scenes throughout are too similar to each other, the male and female playing fairly stereotypical roles.  The author also shies away from using words like vagina – so instead you get words like ‘mound’.  Oh so sexy.

The other downside? It ended.  Now I have to wait until October for the fourth and unholy war david hairfinal one.

CHARACTER OF NOTE

Elena Anborn – An assassin for one side turned protector for the other. Elena’s thoughts, values and conscience change as she journeys through the story.  She is a strong, athletic woman in her early 40’s who is a warrior half-blood Mage. She is kind, mean, hot-tempered, suspicious, intelligent, brave, selfish and nurturing.  She is all things and not stamped by one label. I appreciate the author writing such a multi-hued heroine who is often stronger, smarter and more adept than most of the men in the story.

My Feels:

DevastatedOMG! I LOVE THIS BOOK!I've got a crush

%d bloggers like this: